Columbia Records has confirmed that a new studio album from Bob Dylan, his 37th studio LP, will be released on 20 May.  Featuring 12 classic American tunes written by some of music’s most acclaimed and influential songwriters, Fallen Angels showcases Dylan’s unique and much-lauded talents as a vocalist, arranger and bandleader.  The Jack Frost-produced album marks the first new music from the artist since 2015's Shadows In The Night.

One of the album’s recordings, “Melancholy Mood” is available now on iTunes as an Instant Gratification track, and will also be released as part of a four-track 7in EP on 16 April for Record Store Day. Fallen Angels includes songs from a diverse array of writers including Johnny Mercer, Harold Arlen, Sammy Cahn and Carolyn Leigh.  The album was recorded at Capitol Studios in Hollywood in 2015.

Fans of Bob Dylan might like to look out for the Music Legends feature in the May issue of HFC on sale on 21 April.

The complete track listing for Fallen Angels is, as follows:

  1. Young At Heart
  2. Maybe You’ll Be There
  3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
  4. All The Way
  5. Skylark
  6. Nevertheless
  7. All Or Nothing At All
  8. On A Little Street In Singapore
  9. It Had To Be You
  10. Melancholy Mood
  11. That Old Black Magic
  12. Come Rain Or Come Shine